

Charter - Flagship Analytics Council

Effective July 1, 2021

Purpose:

The Flagship Analytics Council holds decision-making authority on behalf of UofSC Columbia and Palmetto College for initiatives developed through CarolinaAnalytics. Leveraging the multi-disciplinary and cross-functional perspectives of its members, the council governs the selection and development of high-value data initiatives in response to institutional needs and strategic priorities.

Scope:

Actions. The Flagship Analytics Council governs ongoing data science efforts by:

- Standardizing the intake and proposal process
- · Reviewing, clarifying, & refining proposals
- Considering ethical dimensions of proposed initiatives and determining related constraints
- Deciding whether proposals are approved, denied, reworked, or tabled
- Prioritizing and sequencing approved proposals for development
- Assuring quality of outputs and deliverables
- Identifying risks, issues, and resource needs

Governance Alignment. The Flagship Analytics Council operates under the auspices of the Business Intelligence Council, which governs the entirety of the CarolinaAnalytics platform. BIC aligns the design, implementation, and management of CarolinaAnalytics with UofSC System-wide strategic data access, platform, and training needs, inclusive of the comprehensive universities.

Institutional Scope.

By design, the Flagship Analytics Council does *not* include the comprehensive universities (Aiken, Beaufort, and Upstate), each of which governs its respective BI/analytics prerogatives and has the option to extend the university contract with HelioCampus to address their unique priorities.

Processes:

- Charter This charter may be amended by the Council, subject to approval by the Chief Data Officer and the Business Intelligence Council.
- Membership Members may not delegate their membership but may engage a proxy on occasion; in the event of vacancy, the individual to whom that member reports may name an interim member to complete the current two-year term.
- Collaboration and Meetings Instead of meetings, proposals for analytics projects will primarily be
 presented for review, decisions, and related actions via electronic means. If FAC members
 determine a synchronous meeting is needed or beneficial, the Program Manager will schedule it,
 notify members of the purpose/agenda, and facilitate it. Meetings may use any conducive format,
 including in-person, conference call, or web conference. Meetings are open to all Council members
 and invited guests or advisors; individuals who have submitted proposals may be asked to attend
 when their proposal is under consideration/discussion.



- Quorum, Voting, and Decisions A quorum is needed for matters requiring a formal decision; a quorum exists when more than half the members actively vote (or otherwise provide their personal decision). Each member has one vote/decision on matters. The Program Manager votes only on matters where a tie would otherwise occur, and further delay would be detrimental. Vote/decision may be provided in person, remotely by voice or text, or written correspondence, including email and chat. Majority of votes cast determines decisions.
- Documentation All discussions, decisions, and actions will be documented, retained, and put into action by the Program Manager and Chair.

Membership:

Program Manager and Chair. Chief Data Officer, Division of Information Technology

Academic Unit Members. One person each, by appointment of an Academic Dean for two-year terms. *Designated Members for Fiscal Year 2021-2022 and Fiscal Year 2022-2023:*

1.	Arnold School of Public Health	vacant/pending
2.	College of Arts and Sciences	Lydia Frass
3.	College of Education	Lisa Peterson
4.	College of Engineering and Computing	Jammie Turner
5.	College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport	Sam Todd
6.	College of Information and Communications	Brytnee Leigh
7.	College of Nursing	Lori Vick
8.	College of Pharmacy	Brie Dunn
9.	College of Social Work	Felissa Carter-More
10.	Graduate School	Libby Cross
11.	Moore School of Business	Mark Ferguson
12.	School of Law	Liz Niehaus
13.	School of Medicine - Columbia	Kevin Bennett
14.	School of Medicine – Greenville	Kathryn Johnson
15.	School of Music	Mike Laroche
16.	South Carolina Honors College	Thomas Holmes
17.	University Libraries	Stacy Winchester
18.	USC Lancaster	Ken Cole
19.	USC Salkehatchie	Chris Nesmith
20.	USC Sumter	Michael Sonntag
21.	USC Union	Lee Morris

Administrative and Service Unit Members. One person each, by designation of select Vice Presidents or Chief Officers with oversight of these divisions/units, for two-year terms. *Designated Members for Fiscal Year 2021-2022 and Fiscal Year 2022-2023:*

1.	Academic Affairs & Provost	Cheryl Addy
2.	Athletics	pending
3.	Development / Advancement	Jay Trussell
4.	Finance & Administration	pending
5.	Government Relations	Derrick Meggie



6. Human Resources

7. Institutional Research – Columbia

8. Institutional Research – Palmetto College

9. Research

10. Student Affairs

Stacy Lee

Sabrina Andrews

Joe Mews

Roger Newman-Norlund Silvia Patricia Rios Husain

Student Membership. One person each, by appointment of the elected President of the following organizations for one-year terms:

Student Government Association pending
 Graduate Student Association pending